Payday loans

Music Reviews

Use this page to let us know your about favourite music, any good tunes you’ve heard and think others should hear too. Help the radio by shopping at Amazon just click on this link or if you are interested in a particular album just click on the picture.

———————————————————————————————————————————————

ANYTHING GOES LUKE REVIEWS INSPIRAL CARPETS NEW ALBUM

LUKE LOGO

The Inspiral Carpets along with the Stone Roses and the Happy Mondays made their name as part of the whole Madchester scene, with a string of classic singles and a lucrative line in iconic T-shirts. Between 1989 and 1995, the band notched up 15 hits and four Top 20 albums. In 2003, they re-formed and have been playing live ever since. In 2011, they reunited with original singer Stephen Holt. Another of this brand new album’s highlights is the garage punk opus ‘Let You Down’, which boasts an amazing and unique cameo by special guest and legendary punk poet John Cooper Clarke! Schedule to be released 20thOctober 2014

Anything Goes Featuring Inspiral Carpets Self Titled Album. Album review 30-09-14

Inspiral Carpets

It was 20 years ago Inspiral Carpets released their last studio album. A lot of water has travelled under the bridge since then. Tom Hingley has left the band to be replaced by the original frontman Stephen Holt . Graham Lambert, Craig Gill, Stephen Holt, Clint Boon , Martyn Walsh make up the current line up. When bands reform or come back from a long period of absence you often wonder what your going get, most of the time it’s a let down.

Not so with the Inspirals new album, It’s like an old friend you haven’t seen since school who drops by. You’re met with anticipation, you start to catch up and then it’s like they’ve never gone away and your right back at the moment.                                                                                                           This album has taken me right back to the time I first heard the likes of Plane Crash, Joe, Commercial Rain, the early period. I think I’m going to rename the album, Inspiral Carpets (Prologue To Life), it’s a Clint Boon Masterclass of Organ, lot’s of different styles in sound from Clint. Notebley, The Seeds, The Doors and even The Tornadoes.

The sound of the album is more Freakbeat and Garage, Calling Out To You opens with a thumping Doorseque bass line from Martyn Walsh, it’s a grooving bass and organ track that wouldn’t be lost in The Whiskey A Go Go. Forever Here, start’s off like a messed up version of The Charlatans Weirdo. Is it a nod to Rob Collins or just nod to The Charlatans? It’s a stand out track. Let You Down, A mashup of Commercial Rain in the style of The Doors doing Gloria. Early Inspirals live shows often had long wigout tracks in their shows, this will fit in nicely to that segway.

 

Things I like on this album, the band gets to show what they can do. Graham Lambert chips in with some nice guitar riffs, Craig Gill drives a lot of the tracks with his Garage/ R&B rhythm. Human Shield , only can described as Trip Maker/ Mr Farmer. It a really up liffting album. This has a feeling of complete freedom, a lot of influences in the sounds from all the members. Stephen Holt’s vocals fit the bands sound perfectly. Flying Like A Bird, a Madchester ballad, Holt’s vocals stand out on this track, complemented by Gill’s drumming. Madchester is back and Cool As *&*^

https://twitter.com/AnythingGoesDCR

https://www.facebook.com/AnythingGoesDCR

https://www.facebook.com/dcr97.4fm

http://www.dunooncommunityradio.org/programme-info/presenters/luke/

http://tunein.com/radio/Dunoon-Community-Radio-974-s133815/-

DCR LOGO 2 GAELIC

 

 

SKERRYVORE OFFICIAL ALBUM LAUNCH

To celebrate the release of their new album – ‘World of Chances’, Skerryvore are having a massive launch night in the O2 ABC Glasgow on Friday 22nd June.

This will be Skerryvore’s biggest show ever and also the first chance to buy the new album – 3 days before it is released in stores and online!!!

DUNOON CONCERT DATE CONFIRMED

Skerryvore have confirmed that they will be visiting Dunoon again this year and have confirmed they shall be playing in the Queen,s Hall on Saturday 15th December 2012

No strangers to Dunoon the boys are looking forward to their pre Christmas Concert and catching up with many of their fans, they say “We are delighted to have finally finished ‘World of Chances’ and can’t wait to perform it to you”.

We shall of course be inviting the band into our new studio to bring us up to date since their last visit and in the meantime  have the June release of the new album “World of Chances” to look forward to and playing it here on Dunoon Community Radio

For more information http://www.skerryvore.com/

Or check out the facebook http://www.facebook.com/skerryvore

——————————————————————————————————————————————-

Sonido Criminal – ‘Crime Payz’

Although young, Carlos was influenced by soneros such as Ismael Rivera, Hector Lavoe, Pete “El Conde” Rodriguez, Tito Allen, Ray De La Paz, Ismael Quintana, Chamaco Ramirez and Justo Betancourt.

Carlos began singing at the age of 15, gaining his experience by singing with local bands and later on sharing the stage with various artists including Ismael Miranda, Brenda K Starr, Luisito Carrion, Hector Tricoche, Lalo Rodriguez, Tito Puente Jr and Johnny Polanco Y Su Conjunto Amistad (one of LA’s top salsa bands).

Currently Sonido Criminal is promoting their first CD, the critically acclaimed, “CRIME PAYZ” which includes the songs “CARELESS WHISPER,” “RUMBA EN EL CIELO,” “PURO Y SIN CORTE,” “SANDUNGUERA” & “FACEBOOK” and is currently available for purchase on the band’s website.

After listening to this album, you will instantly be transformed into a fan because you will experience a refreshing and inspirational journey through the music of the best Salsa Artist of the New Generation. This young and talented Salsa singer delivers a very soulful, passionate and intense melodic voice combined with incredible soneo & rap skills as well as tight & masterful arrangements that are taking the Salsa world by storm with every song. This debut album promises to be a classic for all salseros across the globe. This is Salsa Dura at its highest degree with a perfect twist of urban, New York, hip-hop influences that will be noticed in his style and flavor along with a different technique that many can’t pull off or manage. “Crime Payz” is original, creative and relevant. This classic album is guaranteed to move you and your feet.

Sonido Criminal’s music is being heard on on-line radio stations and satellite radio both nationally and internationally which has provided them with a growing fan base throughout the world.

The Purple Doves – Christmas Cheer

If you have listened to our evening show with Douglas and Victor you should have heard this track at the start. We have had many requests asking where people can get a copy, unfortunately as it is by alocal unsigned band it is not available to buy. But  there is a rumour they may be about to release the tune, so keep an ear open for further information. For more information on the band go to  www.myspace.com

We are all set to go Dec Ist . For the Third time your Christmas Cheer will be our Theme song of the month- The very first song broadcast on Dunoon Community Radio 97.4fm -29 seconds past 5.00pm 1st December 2009 – be nice to have you guys in the studio at that time this December 2011

Buddy Holly - Amazon Associates

Eddi Reader - Amazon Associates

See below in comments for the reviews on Eddi Reader and Buddy Holly


Rod Stewart - Amazon Associates

Some Guys Have All The Luck – ROD STEWART

Warner Bros. have launched an extensive reissue campaign of Rod Stewart’s legendary catalogue, beginning with this release of Some Guys Have All The Luck, which spans material recorded between 1971 and 2004, this two-CD set is arranged chronologically with Rod’s early solo years well represented by several tunes including “Maggie May” and “You Wear It Well” from the unforgettable classic albums, Every Picture Tells A Story (1971) and Never A Dull Moment (1972). The opening disc also includes “Stay With Me”, a nod to Rod’s time with the Faces.

The second half of Disc One shifts to Rods Warner Bros. years with the stadium-swooning ballad, “Sailing,” the No1 smash, “Tonight’s The Night (Gonna Be Alright),” the Top 10 hit “You’re In My Heart” and disco favourites the number I Hit “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy” and “Young Turks”.

The second disc concentrates on music Rod recorded during the ’80s and ’90s, including Baby Jane, “Infatuation”, “Some Guys Have All The Luck”, “Love Touch”, “Forever Young” and “Downtown Train” and “Rhythm Of My Heart” from the “Vagabond Heart” album.

Also included is a previously unreleased track entitled “Two Shades Of Blue,” recorded in 1998 during the “When We Were The New Boys” session and quite unique for a Rod Stewart tune in that it features a sample of a very famous classical piece of music.

In This double CD we have some of Rod’s classics both old and new plus some lesser known songs. A lot of Rod’s songs like “Maggie May” have never really gone away and sound as fresh today as they did back in the early seventies. An album like this makes you realise just how timeless Rod Stewart’s music and songs are.

An excellent compilation to augment any music collection

Fi @ DCR WebAdmin

MOWTOWN GOLD

Mowtown Gold - Amazon associates

After the disaster that was MOTOWN 50 I found this wee gem on Amazon.

This triple CD contains 81 tracks from the vaults of Motown, all except the opening track “Money that’s what I want” are recorded in the sixties, which is generally regarded as Motown’s best period.

British fans are often surprised when they first discover that Motown released their first single in 1959. It took almost five years before the British public embraced the sound of Motown.

It wasn’t until 1964 when “Baby love” (Supremes) and “My guy” (Mary Wells) became huge hits. After that, there was no stopping the seemingly endless stream of hits and the remainder of the sixties is strongly represented here with plenty of tracks from Marvin Gaye (solo and duets), Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, The Marvelettes,

Stevie Wonder, The Four Tops, The Velvelettes, Junior Walker and the All-Stars, The Isley Brothers, The Temptations, Diana Ross and the Supremes, Martha Reeves and the Vandellas and Gladys Knight and the Pips.

These artists dominate, but Motown’s lesser names from the sixties are here too, with excellent tracks by Brenda Holloway, Kim Weston, Edwin Starr, Jimmy Ruffin, The Originals.

Even with 81 tracks, it is not possible to include all the hits that Motown have produced (or even all the hits from 1964-1969), but this is more the type of compilation I was expecting MOTOWN 50 to be. Because believe me even this only scratches the surface!

There is also a wee memorabilia note on each track which DJs love – helps make them sound so knowledgeable (including me!)

This is a brilliant introduction to “The Sound Of Young America” – Tamla Motown No Dancing In The Aisles – Vinnie Thoms

 

Bandaged little drummer boy

The Little Drummer Boy – BANDAGED

Everyone should have heard this by now and everyone should have a least one copy-well, it is for the Kiddies. It would also make a brilliant stocking filler so maybe buying two copies is in order.Unfortunately the Bandaged single is released at the same time as the Leona Lewis single Run, which at the time of writing has just been declared the best selling download to date and under normal circumstances a very probable No1.

A lot of folk many led by Radio Two DJ Chris Evans who declared on the first ‘airplay’ of the “Drummer Boy” that it should be released as a single for Christmas. Togs are also hoping this will give Sir Terry his second No1, his first, some may remember was the Floral Dance in January 1978.

Unfortunately the other member of the group, Aled Jones only managed as the fifteen year old ‘boy soprano’ to get to No 5 with his well known tune “Walking in the Air” in November 1985. That was just about a year before his recording career was temporally halted when his voice broke at sixteen having sold more than six million albums-that’s a lot of mums-can the Togs and Mums make this a number one against all odds- with a little help, anything is possible. DCR Admin

 

Mowtown 50 - Amazon

MOTOWN 50

I was really looking forward to reviewing this CD. As some of you may recall I told you some time ago of how Motown Records were asking fans to help them select the best tunes from their catalogue so as they could compile a definitive CD to Celebrate 50 years in 2009. Well here it is and I have just finished listening to it!

This is not the Celebration of Motown 50 I was expecting to hear! If this is what the voters thought was the best of Motown from the past 50 years, as a Motown fan, I am appalled! I cannot believe that Motown fans would vote to listen to an artist sing a cover version of a “pop” song and disregard the Classic Original Motown songs they have been credited with. Something has gone terribly wrong in putting this Album together!

Thank goodness there are quite a few CDs available that do represent the true Motown sound of the last 5o years; several of them I see are still available through our link with Amazon.

I was so looking forward to writing a review of this CD on the Music Review page as an insight into what Motown has contributed to music over the last 50 years – not with this CD I am sad to say. But don’t worry no such errors on the Sound of Detroit section of my radio show: No Dancing in the Aisles; VINNIE THOMS

 

 

Gabriella Cilima - View Album on Amazon

Gabriella Cilmi Lessons To Be Learned

Known for her recent chart hit Sweet About Me in June 2008 and her current hit Save The Lies; both on this her first album, Gabriella Cilmi (pronounced “Chill Me”) is certainly living up to all the hype surrounding this release.First, let’s dispense with some of what your hearing and reading,This album is to be filed under Pop Music, and yes the girl is only sixteen as you may have seen on your PC or TV and as you’ve heard, got a big and at times jazzy soulful voice, but on listening to this CD I think we should try to forget the Amy, Duffy and even Anastacia comparisons. As for references to Girls Aloud this comes about through association with Xenomania who are, wait for it, a group of very talented people including Miranda Cooper to name just one. Put together by an equally talented Brian Higgins, a producer and writer who has written and produced albums and tracks for some of the biggest names. And I mean huge names in music, all through his Xenomania production group, Girls Aloud being just being one along with Miranda Cooper who he has co-written for. So let’s recognize we have a great production team working on this CD but without Gabriella……….although as a kinda footnote I do recall Brian Higgins was involved in reviving the career for Cher in the late nineties with a smash hit with the lady singing with a distorted voice I do (Believe)The Album starts with the current single SAVE THE LIES a chart bound uptempo Tune and a worthy follow up to the second track SWEET ABOUT ME and what must be a pleasing start to fans.Tracks three SANCTUARY slows the pace with a bluesy jazzy vibe feel which nearly all the slower tacks tend to have. Tracks five, six and seven a trio of up-tempo pop tunes which should keep fans bouncing at the live concerts AWKWARD GAME and SAFER tracks eight and nine seem a strange mix at this time after the previous three tracks, AWKWARD GAME a gritty bluesy tune which Gabriella certainly does the business putting over then there’s SAFER A “pop ballad” Track ten CIGARETTES AND LIES sounds as if Gabriella is having a lot of fun with this up tempo bluesy tune which leads into TERRIFYING with Gabriella right out front in a sort of rock chick mode.SIT IN THE BLUES no prizes to what genre this is but the girl can sing it so why not.The final tune on the CD is a jingle jangly straight forward cover of Martha and the Muffins ECHO BEACH which can’t fail to leave you on a high.Forget the hype this is a very good Album with a good variety of tunes, Gabriella is an awesome talent from rock chick to gusty blues. Just listen and except it as it is. It will be interesting to see where Gabriella goes but that’s for the future this is now and this CD is going to get many more plays.

james

James — Hey Ma Review by Victor DCR

After a seven year gap the Manchester Veterans do not fail to deliver with this their tenth Album regardless of some of the initial press.

Most folk will remember them for tunes like COME HOME and SIT DOWN.

Over the years James has become for has me a band that was wise to included in a play list and even wiser to have on hand to lift a Disco Party Nite and fill the floor.

This album is everything and more than previous albums,

What ever these guys were doing before their “reformation” in 2007 hasn’t harmed one bit as it sounds as if they have been playing forever which is probably down to the tunes of Booth, Gott and Glennie, the skilled musicians, hard work and playing as a band should play, together!

This album brings together again the same line-up that appeared on their 1990s album Gold Mother their most successful UK album to date.

As Jason from Dunoon mentioned band member Andy Diagram’s unique style on the trumpet certainly rates up there with the best (check out waterfall) and with Tim Booth never singing better and taking his lyrics to a higher level Hey Ma to me is their best album yet. Stand out tracks BUBBLES, HEY MA, WATERFALL and OH MY HEART as anthemic as any of their previous anthems (awesome drums by the way)

sharleen-spiteri-melody.jpg

Sharleen Spiteri – Melody

Best known for fronting the multi platinum selling guitar band TEXAS Glaswegian favourite Sharleen has released her first Solo Album. Eagerly awaited by fans the album has received good reviews in the press and more than generous reviews from her many fans. To create a new sound Sharleen has reverted to an almost retro sound of the 1960s and 70s which she does very well.

The opening song IT WAS YOU, a collaboration with Bernard Butler and David McAlmont just lacks the hand claps to put it in the Motown snake pit with the Funk Brothers; and the final cord finish could well be the starting cord for a Lee Hazlewood produced Nancy Sinatra 45 disc. This pace keeps up through track two the current single ALL THE TIMES I CRIED and track three STOP, I DON’T LOVE YOU ANYMORE before briefly slowing the pace to get your breath back with the haunting title track MELODY. With more than a passing nod to sixties French Chanson Serge Gainsbourg and the even later Frederic Chopin absolute magic.

The next track I WONDER picks up the pace a shade as does track six I’M GOING TO HAUNT YOU, although this in its self is not a bad track, it has a nice hypnotic tune, it did immediately remind me of Jonathon Richmans Egyptian Raggae and dare I say, sand dancing, but hey, just knowing about these things tells you, what do I know about anything and I do like it. With the opening lines “Pull up out the front you see the club glow, See him there at the door then you say hello.” Track seven DON’T KEEP ME WAITING sounds as if it was born in the Brill building to be sung by a live sixties girlie group with a lot of R&B and like all the upbeat tunes on this CD far superior than a lot of original recently “discovered” tunes of a certain northern influence.

DON’T LET ME DOWN track eight is a ballad, a nice sixties word to describe a slow tune with a good MELODY, this girl has never had a problem singing the slow ones but never has she sang with such conviction, some call it soul.

The surging horns that open track nine WHERE DID IT GO WRONG bring on a reality check that this is a new recording but the lush strings that come in two thirds through the first verse add even more confusion and I wonder, if I could forget all those years listening to Texas for a short while I might hear this CD the way SHARLEEN wants it to be heard.

The standard only gets better and with track ten DAY TRIPPING I am now starting to feel comfortable with this new sound so much so I’m looking forward to listening to it again, especially to take in the lyrics that I have only partially enjoyed having been distracted by analyzing the sound.

Next to last track FRANCOISE, a simple beautiful song without the musical accompaniment of previous tracks which only adds to the simplicity and the awareness of something precious. The final track WHEN DID YOU LEAVE HEAVEN is exactly what you have now come to expect but still surprises that it is so good. No sooner are all the body parts swinging in unison its all over, leaving you to check the track time just in case the silence is actually a long break.

Sharleen Spiteri deserves whatever it is that inspired her to make this album, I think it will be a lot of different things to a lot of different people. If you like up tempo tunes, surging horns and clacking percussion that make body parts move in unison, lush strings that appear from nowhere and the occasional slow song that makes you feel sad but happy you heard it, then you can experience all that anytime you want by acquiring a copy of this, the first solo album from Sharleen Spiteri MELODY, I’ m just going to listen to it again and enjoy!

——————————————————————————————————————-

THE ORIGINAL BRITISH GUITAR LEGEND DIES AGED 91

 


At 91 years old the Legendry British Guitarist Bert Weedon has passed away.

Among the star guitarists who have acknowledged Bert’s help in their early days through his book “Play in a Day” are: John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Eric Clapton, Mark Knopfler, Brian May, Pete Townshend, Sting, Mike Oldfield, Mike Read, John Miles, Dr Phil, Steve Hillage, plus many many more. . .

When Alvin Stardust visited us here last year he told us during his interview and set from the Legends Window that he recommended any one starting out to learn the guitar to purchases a copy of Bert’s Learn in a Day guitar tutor. .

Bert Weedon and Alvin Stardust

With the coming of the Golden Age Of rock and roll, Bert was in great demand as the named soloist on no end of hit records, and his playing greatly aided the success on records of many of the foremost stars of the period.

Many  of the rock  n’ roll tunes played here on DCRs Rock Slot feature the guitar playing of Burt, early rock singers such as Tommy Steele, Marty Wild, Laurie London, Cliff Richard, Adam Faith and Billy Fury all asked for Bert to play on their records.

His virtuosity in all fields of music also enabled him to accompany such artists as Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Rosemary Clooney, Nat King Cole, Judy Garland and many top British stars, while at the other end of the music scale he played for Gigli, Paul Robeson and many others.

As a result of his exciting solos on the early rock records. Bert was asked by Top Rank to make a record as a solo artist.

Bert became the first British guitarist to get a solo record in the Hit Parade – the memorable “Guitar Boogie Shuffle”. He subsequently notched further hits with “Apache”. “Nashville Boogie”. “Ginchy”. “Sorry Robbie” “Tokyo Melody”. to mention but a few.                                                                                                  His L.P. `s have sold in tremendous numbers; “Bert Weedon remembers Jim Reeves” sold over 250,000 while his “22 Golden Guitar Greats” L.P. reached the No 1 spot in the Album Charts, and he once again made disc history by becoming the first solo guitarist to reach the coveted top of the Hit Parade – receiving both Gold and Platinum L.P.’s for his record breaking sales of over one million copies. The tremendous success of his L.P.’s and C.D’s ensures that Bert is still among the top recording artists of Britain.

Apart from his reputation as a session and guitar soloist he is known throughout the world because of his guitar tutor called “Play in a Day”. This is probably the best selling tutor in the world and Bert is proud of the fact that most of today’s top guitarists have told him that they started their first steps on the guitar with the aid of his book. In fact he has been nicknamed ” the Man who taught the world to play the guitar”.
His book is printed in several languages and has been published all over the world. The book has sold over 2 million copies and over 30 years on remains the world’s most successful guitar tutor. It has been awarded two Golden Pages in recognition of that fact. The first by Chappell Music Ltd for the sale of 1,000,000 copies of “Play in a Day”, and the second by International Music Publication for the 30th Anniversary Edition 1957-1987 of “Play in a Day”, which was presented by Mike Oldfield on the Terry Wogan TV Show.
Bert originally wrote it because he remembered the difficulty he had as a 12 year old with a battered guitar in his hand and not knowing a thing about it or how to play it. He was determined there would be a tutor that anyone could understand and learn from without a teacher, and by anticipating all the questions that a beginner would ask and answering them in his book, he was able to help most of today’s top pop idols on their way to stardom.

Through his book and television tuition it is estimated that Bert Weedon has influenced approximately 4 million guitar players over the past forty years.

21 Comments

  1. D Lister says:

    Was going through some of the CD’S (who uses optical media these days, right?) and realized some are ‘that’ old. This Mortal Coil, KMFDM, Front242.. Band names constrained to dust and niche radio stations.

    If one CD was to be picked out, I’d decline on the grounds it would be too difficult because of variations between bands..

    On the other hand, a single track which I have always loved is KMFDM’s “Juke Joint Jezeble”. Not for any specific music quality but rather, it’s one track that would fit if I had to choose one and no more. JJJ is just on 20 years on, and yet remains as playable as when I first heard it.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91w6Q2tytLc

  2. LUKE REVIEWS NEW INSPIRAL CARPETS ALBUM says:

    The Inspiral Carpets along with the Stone Roses and the Happy Mondays made their name as part of the whole Madchester scene, with a string of classic singles and a lucrative line in iconic T-shirts. Between 1989 and 1995, the band notched up 15 hits and four Top 20 albums. In 2003, they re-formed and have been playing live ever since. In 2011, they reunited with original singer Stephen Holt. Another of this brand new album’s highlights is the garage punk opus ‘Let You Down’, which boasts an amazing and unique cameo by special guest and legendary punk poet John Cooper Clarke! Schedule to be released 20thOctober 2014
    Anything Goes Featuring Inspiral Carpets Self Titled Album. Album review 30-09-14
    It was 20 years ago Inspiral Carpets released their last studio album. A lot of water has travelled under the bridge since then. Tom Hingley has left the band to be replaced by the original frontman Stephen Holt . Graham Lambert, Craig Gill, Stephen Holt, Clint Boon , Martyn Walsh make up the current line up. When bands reform or come back from a long period of absence you often wonder what your going get, most of the time it’s a let down. Not so with the Inspirals new album, It’s like an old friend you haven’t seen since school who drops by. You’re met with anticipation, you start to catch up and then it’s like they’ve never gone away and your right back at the moment. This album has taken me right back to the time I first heard the likes of Plane Crash, Joe, Commercial Rain, the early period. I think I’m going to rename the album, Inspiral Carpets (Prologue To Life), it’s a Clint Boon Masterclass of Organ, lot’s of different styles in sound from Clint. Notebley, The Seeds, The Doors and even The Tornadoes. The sound of the album is more Freakbeat and Garage, Calling Out To You opens with a thumping Doorseque bass line from Martyn Walsh, it’s a grooving bass and organ track that wouldn’t be lost in The Whiskey A Go Go. Forever Here, start’s off like a messed up version of The Charlatans Weirdo. Is it a nod to Rob Collins or just nod to The Charlatans? It’s a stand out track. Let You Down, A mashup of Commercial Rain in the style of The Doors doing Gloria. Early Inspirals live shows often had long wigout tracks in their shows, this will fit in nicely to that segway. Things I like on this album, the band gets to show what they can do. Graham Lambert chips in with some nice guitar riffs, Craig Gill drives a lot of the tracks with his Garage/ R&B rhythm. Human Shield , only can described as Trip Maker/ Mr Farmer. It a really up liffting album. This has a feeling of complete freedom, a lot of influences in the sounds from all the members. Stephen Holt’s vocals fit the bands sound perfectly. Flying Like A Bird, a Madchester ballad, Holt’s vocals stand out on this track, complemented by Gill’s drumming. Madchester is back and Cool As *&*^

    https://twitter.com/AnythingGoesDCR

    https://www.facebook.com/AnythingGoesDCR

    http://www.dunooncommunityradio.org/programme-info/presenters/luke/

    http://tunein.com/radio/Dunoon-Community-Radio-974-s133815/

    The Only Real Alternative

  3. derick robins says:

    A lo’e the McCalmans///John MacDermott///Steve MacDonnell///an’ Saorsa the tune///Clanadonia///Scottish Bagpipe Music…Brilliant…an’the Royal Scot Dragoon Guards…This jist a some o’ the Musik a like….Thank Ye.

  4. News from Elizabeth Pickup

    “If Freddie Mercury and Noel Gallagher had a commitment ceremony and adopted a child, that child would be LAVERS.”

    They would love you to check out their new single, ‘Our Little Empire’.

    It’s already drawn comparisons with Ryan Adams and Fleet Foxes.

    Here’s a link to the new single, photos (inc. cover art) and some info on the release: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/v5pllhc19cgfbvv/NU3laY24z5

    The film clip was shot in Japan and can be viewed here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NaSxEk37Pyo

    LAVERS release ‘Endless Corridors’

    LAVERS has released its new EP, ‘Endless Corridors’, on the back of national coverage in Australia and the UK.
    The brother-duo’s 7-track EP was written, recorded and produced out of the basement of their family home.
    Dominic and Sebastian Lavers then took up a residency at Studios 301 in Sydney to have the record mixed by Simon Todkill (Kanye West, Nantes, The Griswolds).
    With shades of Fleet Foxes, Oasis and The Verve, the songs showcase the melodic songwriting for which the brothers are becoming known.
    The EP’s first single, ‘Our Little Empire’, was recently picked up by Xfm in London and the Australian broadcaster, triple j.
    It follows the success of the band’s first two singles, ‘Cosmic Ambulance’ and ‘Old-fashioned Girl’, which have both received spins on triple j this year.
    The songwriting on Endless Corridors is as strong as many have come to expect from the brothers and, on repeat listens, it’s clear that there is a depth to this music that lingers with the listener.
    Dominic and Sebastian Lavers are based in Canberra, Australia, and first began playing music together in 2010.
    Their most recent single, ‘Tangled Up In Dreams’, received international attention for it’s stop-motion film clip, which helps raise awareness for the issue of avoidable blindness.
    On a budget of just $185, it was six months and more than 1500 photos in the making and has since been promoted by a range of international organisations, including Vision2020 International, The Fred Hollows Foundation and Sightsavers.
    Contact the band:

    Email: info@laversband.com

    facebook.com/laversband
    twitter.com/laversband
    youtube.com/laversband
    soundcloud.com/laversband

  5. Claire says:

    Easy to listen to love the tales of the blues very interesting indeed.
    Look forward to checking out the new book. Clair

  6. BUDDY HOLLY says:

    BUDDY HOLLY GREATEST HITS
    Hello Jules thanks for getting in touch and pointing out the forthcoming 50th Anniversary of the death of one of the True legends of Popular Music of the Twentieth Century.
    Although his success lasted only a year and a half before his death in a airplane crash at the age of 22 Buddy Holly has been described as “the single most influential creative force in early rock and roll”. His works and innovations were copied by his contemporaries and later musicians, notably The Beatles and The Rolling Stones and exerted a profound influence on popular music.
    In 2004, Rolling Stone Magazine ranked him No 13 on their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.
    As you say there are still many CDs of his work out there but seeing as you are just looking for a reasonable priced Greatest Hits I saw this Greatest Hits CD at a really reasonable price at £2.97 on Amazon just click to open :
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Best-Buddy-Holly/dp/B00004UB8T/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1232980737&sr=1
    This budget-priced album contains most of his most famous songs, many of which have retained their popularity via cover versions over the years. Here you get Buddy’s original versions of Oh boy,
    That’ll be the day, Peggy Sue, Listen to me, Rave on, Heartbeat, True love ways, Everyday and It doesn’t matter anymore amongst others I’m sure you will know.
    Of course some fans of Buddy Holly may say that this 20 track selection has missed several of his best tunes for lesser tunes but that will be a matter of personal taste and when there is so many tunes to pick from”¦”¦., this is a good start and if after listening to this CD and want to hear more which I hope you will, you already know there is a lot more CDs to select from.
    Perhaps when “Step Back In Time” is on “Air” you may consider putting Buddy Holly forward to “Go Back to the Future” with.
    DCR DJ Douglas “STEP BACK IN TIME”
    .

  7. ANOTHER ANNIVERSARY says:

    Hi Dunoon Radio, just thought I would mention another Anniversary, not 250 years, only 50 years and no not Motown.
    I was reading about the 50th Anniversary of the death on February 3rd of Buddy Holly.
    I only have a couple of his songs on compilation CDs and looking on the internet I find there is no shortage of CDs, nearly all with the same songs but a big difference in price. I am not looking for a definite box collection, a Greatest Hits would be fine can you help me out. Looking forward to hearing Dunoons own Radio soon
    Good Luck to you all for the future
    Jules

  8. SONGS OF ROBERT BURNS CD says:

    EDDI READER
    SINGS THE SONGS OF ROBERT BURNS-EXPANDED
    When Fi@DCRAdmin e-mailed me pointing out that we should have at least one reference to Rabbie Burns words and music on the CD Review page and, before his Birthday, I didn’t hesitate in pulling this CD off the shelf.
    This I must admit, is amongst my most favourite Music CDs and is stored on a shelf directly in front my computer desk and only an arms reach away amongst what I consider are my favourite CDs at this time, some don’t stay on the shelf for long, a few like this and the one next to it by David Paton called Fragments have been there since I first bought them, and for the David Paton CD which contains some excellent versions of burns songs including my all time favourite Ca’ The Yowes with Phil Cunningham on the Accordion, it has been on the shelf for over ten years.
    I first saw Eddi Reader perform as a solo artist at Talla Shomhaire at Aros on Skye were she sang several Burns songs during her set and revealed several comparisons between her life and that of Robbie Burns which may have had something to do with the wonderful renditions of the songs she gave at that concert, it was not till 2003 when she released Eddi Reader Sings The Songs Of Robbie Burns that I was able to relive some of that summer night in Portree.
    While the title of the CD Eddi Reader Sings the Songs of Robert Burns may sound like something deeply unpalatable foisted upon cowering school music students as part of the National Curriculum,
    it isn’t. This is a great music CD, you don’t have to know about Rabbie Burns or the meanings behind the words or what he was doing when he wrote the words, Just listen to each song as it comes and like all good songs they tell their own story although for those not to acquainted with language of Burns Eddi Reader’s sleeve notes provide handy translations of some of the more abstruse elements of the Burns’ Scottish dialect, she also admits to being a bit coy about Rabbies’ bawdiness but I will let you read that for yourself.
    When I first bought this CD I remember wishing that there had been more than the 11 tracks, this expanded version has 7 extra tracks and still leaves you wanting to hear more.
    Most of the titles I am sure will be familiar to you and include
    Jamie come try me, My Love Is Like A Red Red Rose, Willie Stewart/Molly Rankine, Wild Mountainside and of course Auld Lang Syne.
    I notice at the time of writing just a couple of days before Rabbies birthday that the Amazon price for this CD is only £4.98p ““Amazing!
    With Eddi’s beautiful voice and song interpretation, accompanied by the best of the best musicians and superb production, this CD sounds as fresh and new as anything in the latest release category and at the amazon price ““ a must for any music lover.
    DCR VICTOR

  9. NO SEASONING OR SPICE REQUIRED says:

    Nice comment “Barnie Wallace’ and welcome to The Sound of Motown which used to be called ‘The Sound Of Young America’,
    It really says something for the music to be celebrating 50 years and to have some of today’s youngsters listening and appreciating it, and bye the way, as you listen to more of the classics from Motown you will realise that there is no need for “seasoning’ or “spice’ even. Keep in touch-DCR-Douglas-Step Back In Time.

  10. MOTOWN 50 REVIEW (with added spice) says:

    Taking time out from a busy study schedule to catch up on some reading here in the Uni library I was attracted by the Motown featured MOJO music mag. Lot’s of interesting articles to celebrate Motowns 50th anniversary including a Review of Motown 50, the very same as the one reviewed by VINNIE THOMS from Dunoon Radio. This review by CLIVE PRIOR very much the same as VTs review although he does make it clear that the songs that obviously didn’t go down well with VINNIE were in fact bonus cuts — reinterpretations by Motown stars of POP staples. This reviewer also felt that these additional tracks added considerable spice to the album. I have only recently got into Motown so I’m keeping an open mind, my mum is a big fan, she says she has most of the classics in her cd collection but she doesn’t like the covers. “Barnie” Wallace.

  11. The Final Song was Runrig says:

    I must admit that it has been a long time for one reason or another that I have attended a function with a disco.
    This year I have attended several two of which featured the Dunoon radio disco, on both occasions you ended the evening with the Runrig Loch Lomond to the joy of the audience and every one including myself got up to dance.
    I still remember the day when a disco finished with a slow song for couples with most of the audience sitting.
    I much prefer your way.
    thankyou E N.

  12. fionag says:

    I have to admit I don’t think that there is nothing as evocative as singing Loch Lomond at the end of a Runrig concert and Donnie Munro’s version will always be my favourite.

  13. A NATIONAL AHTHEM FOR SCOTLAND? says:

    Runrig’s Loch Lomond has been voted Scotland’s Greatest Song in a poll run over the last two months by London based Scots charity ScotsCare.
    Scottish singing legend Lulu presented Runrig with their prize during a St Andrew’s Day gig the band were playing in London.
    Lulu said, “Runrig are a fantastic Scottish band, I’m delighted that Scots are voting for and appreciating them. Loch Lomond is definitely one of those songs that very quickly reminds you of home, perhaps we now have found the answer to Scotlands National Anthem.
    Runrig secured 40% of the vote to narrowly beat Big Country’s Fields of Fire which with 37% came second.
    Suprisingly, Dougie McLean’s stirring Caledonia trailed into third place with only 11% of the vote while Deacon Blue’s Dignity and the Proclaimers 500 Miles secured fourth and fifth places,each with 7% and 5% of the vote.
    Winners Runrig said “We are honoured to come out top in this vote, Loch Lomond is a deserving winner and a song we love to perform. What a great way for us to mark St Andrew’s Day”
    WHAT DO THINK?
    Why not tell us what song you would choose as Scotland’s National Anthem.

  14. TOP MP3 TUNES AVAILABLE WITH DCR LINK says:

    Check out our link above with AMAZON for the Top Album and Singles MP3s,
    Really easy to download and really easy on the pocket at this time—Just in time for all those Christmas parties in your front room you are arranging

  15. FionaG says:

    Hi Sandra I know what you mean about a Horse with no name, the beat is the same, but I don’t think its that sone i am thinking of. It is the piano introduction of wire to wire that has really got me. It may be an eighties soft rock song?

  16. Sounds like -Crowded House says:

    Razorlight sound alot like Crowded House to me,
    anyone remember them ?
    JIMMY MAC-DUNOON

  17. SOUNDS LIKE?-Wire to Wire says:

    I was really pleased to read FionaG’s comments on the new Razorlight single Wire to Wire reminding her of another tune. I Have the same dilemma and was begining to think it was just me as I have’nt heard anyone else comment on it when playing the tune on the radio. I have checked out reviews for clues the nearest being itunes where it has been alikened to Marillion ?America’s Horse With No Name and a Neil Young tune called Needle and Damage Done.These tunes are all well old and even though I can hear a slight familiarity on itunes preview I have never heard these tunes before and not the tune I’m looking for. Maybe this will help you FionaG.
    SANDRA -DUNOON

  18. FionaG says:

    Every time I hear the new single by Razorlight – wire to wire, I keep getting a niggling feeling that I have heard something very similar before but I just can’t put my finger on it. Is it just me or does someone else have an idea what is floating round in the back of my brain driving me mad

  19. JASON on JAMES new CD HEY MA says:

    You said about the surging horns on the Sharleen Spiteri cd, if you really want to hear some really good horns try listening to the James CD Hey Ma.
    This isin’t your Soul thing but really good indie music. This is the first cd from James for years and is better than thiere other cds and a lot different from some of the anthems they are known for. Talk about moving body parts have you ever seen Tim Booth dance? listen to this cd and you won’t be able to stop yourself-Jason Dunoon

  20. Not Suprised Texas Fan says:

    Iv’e been a fan of Texas since 1989 when Sharleen and Johnny McElhone started the band.
    I think Melody is a brilliant album and yes it is retro but that is no suprise, remember as way back as the White On Blond album (1997) and Black eyed boy. Sharleen has always had a lot of soul.Although this is a brilliant CD and I haven’t stopped listening to it I don’t think this is the end of Texas especially as Johnny McElhone has had so much input in this album— So pleased you chose Melody as your first review xx

  21. WHO WILL BE FIRST WITH MUSIC REVIEW says:

    Don’t be shy, who will be first to write a wee review informing us about a favourite CD. It doesn’t have to be an album could be a single, it doesn’t even have to be new tune could be an old favourite of yours. Lets hear about your favourite tunes which will all be included in a new radio programme once we are broadcasting live.



Leave a Reply

CAPTCHA Image
*